B&NES Councillors’ Gaza Ceasefire Commitment

Call to Action and Response Tracker

Introduction: In response to the critical humanitarian crisis in Gaza, unequivocally characterised as genocide and ethnic cleansing, a growing coalition of Bath organisations fervently calls for a permanent ceasefire. This appeal was presented in a statement (embed below) during the Bath & North East Somerset Council meeting on 30 November, 2023.

Human rights and humanitarian issues transcend borders; they are shared responsibilities. In our statement, we invoked the solemn pledge of ‘never again.’ Today, we stand at a crossroads where our voices can prevent the repetition of history.

In the words of Desmond Tutu, “If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor.”

Purpose: This online document serves as a transparent record of each B&NES Councillor’s response to the statement and a follow-up letter (embedded below) emailed 4 December 2023, urging their stance on a permanent ceasefire. It functions not only to recognise councillors actively supporting the call for a ceasefire but also to propel momentum towards a potential council resolution.

Urgent Call for Action: We urgently implore everyone to join us in a resounding call for peace. Verify your councillor’s position in the table below, spread the message within your community, and make it clear to our representatives that we insist on concrete actions for peace.

Important Note: Please ensure that  any communication with your ward councillor is constructive, informative, and respectful. Foster positive discourse, avoiding any actions that could be perceived as intimidating or inappropriate. We appreciate your commitment to maintaining a responsible and respectful dialogue.

The call for a ceasefire was covered in the local press: https://www.somersetlive.co.uk/news/local-news/bath-council-urged-voice-support-8948045

The B&NES councillors are listed in the table below, along with their position on calling for a ceasefire in Gaza (updated 06/12/2023):

Cllr NameWardParty AffiliationResponseResponse dateEmail contactNotes
Cllr Kevin GuyBathavon NorthLib DemKevin_guy@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Sarah WarrenBathavon NorthLib DemSarah_warren@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Fiona GourleyBathavon SouthLib DemFiona_gourley@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Matthew McCabeBathavon SouthLib DemMatthew_mccabe@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Manda RigbyBathwickLib DemManda_rigby@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Toby SimonBathwickLib DemToby_simon@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Anna BoxChew ValleyLib DemAnna_box@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Dave HardingChew ValleyLib DemDave_harding@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Sam RossClutton & FarmboroughGreenSUPPORT04/12/2023Sam_ross@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Bharat PankhaniaCombe DownLib DemSUPPORT05/12/2023Bharat_pankhania@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Onkar SainiCombe DownLib DemOnkar_saini@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Ann MorganHigh LittletonLib DemAnn_morgan@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Hal MacFieKeynsham EastLib DemHal_macfie@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Andy WaitKeynsham EastLib DemAndy_wait@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Alex BeaumontKeynsham NorthLib DemAlex_beaumont@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr George LeachKeynsham NorthLib DemGeorge_leach@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr David BiddlestonKeynsham SouthLabourSUPPORT04/12/2023David-biddleston@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Alan HaleKeynsham SouthConservativeAlan_hale@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Paul RoperKingsmeadLib DemPaul-roper@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr George TomlinKingsmeadLib DemGeorge_tomlin@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Saskia HeijltjesLambridgeGreenSUPPORT05/12/2023Saskia_heijltjes@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Joanna WrightLambridgeGreenSUPPORT08/12/2023Joanna_wright@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Mark ElliottLansdownLib DemMark_elliott@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Lucy HodgeLansdownLib DemLucy_hodge@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr David WoodMendipLib DemDavid_wood@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Michael AutonMidsomer Norton NorthLib DemSUPPORT04/12/2023Michael_auton@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Shaun HughesMidsomer Norton NorthIndependentsShaun_hughes@bathnes.co.uk
Cllr Sarah EvansMidsomer Norton RedfieldConservativeSarah_evans@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Tim Warren CBEMidsomer Norton RedfieldConservativeTim_warrencbe@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Jess DavidMoorlandsLib DemJess_david@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Samantha KellyNewbridgeLib DemSamantha_kelly@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Michelle O’DohertyNewbridgeLib DemSUPPORT04/12/2023Michelle_odoherty@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Steve HedgesOdd DownLib DemSUPPORT04/12/2023Steve_hedges@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Joel HirstOdd DownLib DemABSTAIN04/12/2023Joel_hirst@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Ian HalsallOldfield ParkLib DemIan_halsall@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Lis HardmanPaultonLabourLiz_hardman@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Grant JohnsonPaultonLabourGrant_johnson@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Gavin HeathcotePeasedownIndependentsGavin_heathcote@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Karen WalkerPeasedownIndependentsKaren_walker@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Paul MayPublow with WhitchurchLib DemPaul_may@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Chris DandoRadstockLabourChristopher_dando@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Lesley MansellRadstockLabourSUPPORT04/12/2023Lesley_mansell@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Duncan HounsellSaltfordLib DemABSTAIN04/12/2023Duncan_hounsell@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Alison Streatfeild-JamesSaltfordLib DemAlison_streatfeild-james@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Paul CrossleySouthdownLib DemPaul_crossley@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Dine RomeroSouthdownLib DemDine_romero@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Shaun Stephenson-McGallTimsburyLib DemShaun_stephenson-mcgall@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Tim BallTwertonLib DemTim_ball@bathenes.gov.uk
Cllr Sarah MooreTwertonLib DemN/A04/12/2023Sarah_moore@bathnes.gov.ukCouncil chair
Cllr Oli HenmanWalcotLib DemOli_henman@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr John LeachWacotLib DemSUPPORT04/12/2023John_leach@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Dr Eleanor JacksonWestfieldLabourEleanor_jackson@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Robin MossWestfieldLabourRobin_moss@bathness.gov.uk
Cllr Colin BlackburnWestmorelandIndependentsColin_blackburn@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr June PlayerWestmorelandIndependentsJune_player@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Ruth MalloyWestonLib DemSUPPORT04/12/2023Ruth_malloy@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Malcolm TrebyWestonLib DemMalcolm_treby@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Alison BornWidcombe & LyncombeLib DemAlison_born@bathnes.gov.uk
Cllr Deborah CollinsWidcombe & LyncombeLib DemDeborah_collins@bathnes.gov.uk

Below is the statement to the council meeting on the 30th November 2023

Below is the letter sent to councillors asking for their position: